Skip to main content
background image

John Sackett Inducted into Credit Union House Hall of Leaders

March 29, 2024

WASHINGTON D.C. – Royal Credit Union (Royal) Board Member, John Sackett, was inducted into the Credit Union House Hall of Leaders in honor of his significant contributions to the credit union industry. The ceremony took place during the America’s Credit Unions’ Governmental Affairs Conference (GAC) on Sunday, March 3, and a total of sixteen credit union champions were inducted. Members of the Hall of Leaders are exceptional individuals that have dedicated their lives to perpetuating the credit union mission and philosophy. 

John Sackett and the President of the CU House

“The Credit Union House Hall of Leaders is a unique opportunity to recognize individuals who have made incredible contributions and have had a tremendous influence on our movement at the local, state, or national level,” said Patrick La Pine, Credit Union House chair and CEO of the League of Southeastern Credit Unions & Affiliates. “This lasting recognition at the Capitol Hill facility for these outstanding leaders is an inspiration to the future champions of our movement.”

Sackett joined Royal’s Board of Directors in 1984 and served as the Chair from 1991-2008 and Treasurer from 2008-2018. He is still serving as a Director on the Board. In 2012, John helped establish the RCU Foundation, and has served as its Chair since the organization was created. The RCU Foundation awards grant funds to support capital projects in education, health and the arts and has donated more than $9 million to the communities served by Royal Credit Union in Wisconsin and Minnesota.

Sackett’s impact on the credit union industry extends well beyond Royal’s field of Membership. From 2011-2015, he served as Chair of the Credit Union National Association (CUNA) Volunteer Leadership Committee.  Sackett was appointed to CUNA’s Board of Directors in 2015, was elected to the position in 2016, and was re-elected for two additional terms serving until December 2023. Sackett is also a leader in the philanthropic initiatives of the credit union movement. Sackett has served on the National Credit Union Foundation Board of Directors since 2016 and was elected in January 2024 to serve as Board Chair, having previously served as Vice-Chair.

“John Sackett is an exceptional credit union advocate,” said Brandon Riechers, Royal Credit Union President/CEO. “John is a trailblazer and has made numerous lasting and meaningful contributions to the credit union movement through his service. His contributions as a volunteer are unparalleled and worthy of recognition in the Credit Union House Hall of Leaders.”

The 2024 Credit Union House Hall of Leaders inductees

The 2024 Credit Union House Hall of Leaders inductees are:

  • David Adams, Michigan Credit Union League & Affiliates
  • Marvin  Cashman, Metro Credit Union (Mass.)
  • Ezra Eckhardt,  STCU (Wash.)
  • Bryan Fox, Russell Country Federal Credit Union (Mont.)
  • Julia Havens, Riverview Credit Union (Minn.)
  • Alan Meyer, 1st MidAmerica Credit Union (Ill.)
  • Mary Ott Wood, Florida West Coast Credit Union
  • Stephen A. Roy, Tricorp Federal Credit Union (Maine)
  • John Sackett, Royal Credit Union (Wis.)
  • Dan Stoltz, Blaze Credit Union (Minn.)
  • Rob Stuart, OnPoint Community Credit Union (Ore.)
  • Brett Thompson, The Wisconsin Credit Union League
  • Bob Trunzo, TruStage (Wis.)
  • Mike Valentine, BCU (Ill.)
  • Kim Withers, Meridian Trust FCU (Wyo.)
  • In memory of Francis Lally, New Castle County Delaware Employees Federal Credit Union

About Credit Union House

Credit Union House (CU House) on Capitol Hill exists to meet the needs of the members of the credit union community while they are in Washington, D.C. It fosters strong relationships between advocates and elected officials, creates a universal, positive awareness of credit unions, and is a powerful symbol of the movement it proudly represents.  CU House is owned by every statewide credit union association/league and the American Association of Credit Union Leagues (AACUL).

About Royal Credit Union

Royal Credit Union is a federally insured credit union proudly serving over 300,000 Members in Minnesota and Wisconsin. Royal is driven by a core ideology built on a strong purpose and values. You can open an account or apply for a low-rate loan at Royal Credit Union if you live or work in 26 counties in western Wisconsin or 16 counties in Minnesota. Counties served in Wisconsin include Adams, Ashland, Bayfield, Barron, Buffalo, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, Lincoln, Marathon, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Portage, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor, Trempealeau, Washburn, and Wood. Counties served in Minnesota include Anoka, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Goodhue, Hennepin, Isanti, Olmsted, Pine, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, Wabasha, Washington, Winona and Wright. A complete list of Member eligibility requirements is available on the Royal Credit Union website. To learn more about Royal, visit or call 800-341-9911.

Related Information